Categories
Novels

Trapeze, A Novel

A propulsive novel of World War II espionage by the author of New York Times best seller The Glass Room. Barely out of school and doing her bit for the British war effort, Marian Sutro has one quality that makes her stand out—she is a native French speaker. It is this that attracts the attention…

Categories
Novels

Jane Austen in Boca, A Novel

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a nice Jewish widower must be in want of a wife. Jane Austen centered her classic novels of manners around “three or four families in a country village.” So does Paula Marantz Cohen in her novel, a witty twist on Pride and Prejudice–except this time, the “village” is…

Categories
Novels

Specimen Days, A Novel

In each section of Michael Cunningham’s bold new novel, his first since The Hours, we encounter the same group of characters: a young boy, an older man, and a young woman. “In the Machine” is a ghost story that takes place at the height of the industrial revolution, as human beings confront the alienating realities…

Categories
Novels

Watergate, A Novel

A retelling of the Watergate scandal, as seen through a kaleidoscope of its colorful perpetrators and investigators.

Categories
Novels

Behind Closed Doors, A Novel

For twenty years, they had been closer than sisters, sharing girlhood secrets, their hopes and dreams for the future—and a soul-searing promise. Melissa was the only one who knew what had really happened to Jannie beyond the sacred walls of the Mormon Temple the night that changed her life forever…. UNTIL HER BEST FRIEND VANISHED…

Categories
Thriller books

Carpathian, An Event Group Thriller

The Event Group tackles their most challenging mission yet in this no-holds-barred thrill ride from the New York Times bestselling author of Ripper and Legacy Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, James Rollins, and Matthew Reilly, the latest gripping thriller from David L. Golemon takes the Event Group—the nation’s most secret agency—to the brink in…

Categories
Thriller books

The Orion Plan, A Thriller

Scientists thought that Earth was safe from invasion. The distance between stars is so great that it seemed impossible for even the most advanced civilizations to send a large spaceship from one star system to another. But now an alien species—from a planet hundreds of light-years from Earth—has found a way. A small spherical probe…

Categories
Thriller books

The Forgotten Girl, A Thriller

Nominated for the 2018 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel. A dark mystery unfolds in Rio Youers’s riveting thriller, The Forgotten Girl. Harvey Anderson is a twenty-six-year-old street performer from New Jersey. He enjoys his peaceful life, but everything turns upside down when he is abducted and beaten by a group of nondescript thugs.…

Categories
Thriller books

Extinction, A Thriller

A malevolent, artificial life form created by military scientists threatens to destroy humanity in this smart, Crichtonesque thriller Jim Pierce hasn’t heard from his daughter in years, ever since she rejected his military past and started working as a hacker. But when a Chinese assassin shows up at Jim’s lab looking for her, he knows…

Categories
Thriller books

Perish the Day, A Thriller

Perish the Day is a riveting new mystery from John Farrow, an author who “brings a literary fiction writer’s sensitivity to nuance and feel for landscape to this fine, character-rich thriller with a bang-up finish” (Booklist). A co-ed is found murdered on campus, her body scarcely touched. The killer paid meticulous attention to the aesthetics…